Tags

, , , ,

The streets will be alive tomorrow in Toronto with sounds of signs being unveiled.  Ed Mirvish, Theatre impresario and Honestly one of Toronto’s most well-known philanthropists, will be honoured on Duncan Street at noon.  My fondest childhood memories come from sitting amidst fellow theatre buffs being amazed by the spectacle produced by Mirvish Productions.  It is locations such as the Pantages (now known as the Canon Theatre), Princess of Wales and Royal Alexandra Theatre that spawned my devotion to smaller theatres such as Buddies, Berkley Theatre and Factory Theatre.  While I never frequented Honest Ed’s, or dined at one of his many restaurants, I will forever be grateful to him for introducing me to an extraordinary passion in my life – the theatre.

The production that made the Pantages an iconic fixture in Toronto and to me is in a league of its own.

Thank you Ed Mirvish.

