I am surprised I am not curled up, in the fetal position, in a corner with a blanket on, sweating and shivering. While I am not making light of withdrawal symptoms for drug addicts, coca cola is my drug-o-choice and it’s been 2 ½ weeks since my last hit.

I thought it would be harder. I am used to having over 2 cans of coke a day – and that’s good for me! I know, gross, yuck, bleh, I get it and I’ve heard it all. I am well aware of the disgusting rust removal science experiment and that everything I hate about my body stems from my mass consumption of it. Unfortunately, that isn’t why I quit the bad habit – I actually just got sick of being reliant on it. Does that mean I wasn’t tempted to get on my hands and knees in front of the fridge and gulp back a can like I did when I was 12 and not allowed to drink pop? No. But I also haven’t missed it as much as I thought I would. I feel better, I think I look better (I am very baised) and most importantly I am demonstrating some serious will power that I wasn’t aware I had. Go me! I am giving myself a pat on the back because cutting silly boys out of my life, no problem, cutting coca cola out up until this point – are you for real? Sorry coca cola, but I just don’t think I can do “this” anymore. 

I can’t help but wonder if I am on a chugging train to cutting out the crap success, full steam ahead! Today I laid down the no caffeine law. Just the thought of this makes me shiver. I am not a coffee consumer; I am not being weaned off of 4 cups a day and have already had the shakes since 8:30 am. No, no, my caffeine consumption is way worse than a cup of Joe. I get out the big guns on a daily basis, Red Bull minus the vodka. So now we have no coke, no red bull, no mocha’s from Starbucks – I believe a tear just streamed down my face. If you know me well, you know this seems like a silly exercise in “let’s see how fast Shannon can fail”. But be advised, this is no laughing matter. I am orange juice in hand and thankfully am more chipper than a cheerleader.

“40 Days, 40 Nights” may have shown the difficulties of a guy not touching his fun parts, but this my friends is just as bad. Let the headaches resulting in bitchiness begin! I give them two weeks, and then I’ll be kicking them to the curb too.

