Tags

,

2010, you couldn’t have been easy could you.

Last year I predicted each award, straight down to Cinematography, correctly. I am not a psychic, nor do I believe that I have an eye for art direction, but I had a knack for picking up on great pictures and bright performances. When everyone thought Mickey Rourke was going to take the Best Actor Oscar home, I knew that Sean Penn deserved it for his portrayal of a gay man trying to make it in politics in ‘Milk’. I knew that ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ was not only my favourite movie, but it deserved to be everyone’s favourite too. That Penelope Cruz shone in ‘Vicky Cristina Barcelona’ and the late Heath Ledger would be awarded for his greatest work. Problem is, it makes for a hell-of-a selection process the year after – serious pressure.

Here are my selections, whether they win or not, they stood out as the best of the best for me this year. And frankly, modestly speaking, I believe that says a lot.

Best Actress in a Supporting Roll: Mo’Nique – Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

She is one of the reasons why you should see this movie. You hate her and feel sorry for her in one single breath. Mo’Nique shows the level of hurt someone must achieve in order to feel so much hate, she feels nothing.

Best Actor in a Supporting Roll: Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

From the first scene, Christoph Waltz stole this movie. He was beyond believable in his role, and had captivating and suggestive body language that became the subtext for his character. Well done sir, well done.

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side

What a shining moment for Sandra Bullock. Maybe it is because I feel a greater connection to this movie, but this was by far my favourite performance from her. She was honest, sincere and guarded. The fact that she now watches football on Sundays and yells at the TV makes it even better.

Best Actor: Jeremy Renner – The Hurt Locker

Truth be told, I haven’t seen ‘Crazy Hearts’ and I hear Jeff Bridges does a bang up job, but so does Jeremy Renner. Calm, cool and collected, he made me understand the lack of thoughts that goes through someone’s head when attempting to detonate a bomb. That life at home no longer makes sense, what makes sense is split second decisions in a beige world.

Best Picture: Avatar

I wanted to hate this movie, I really did. Blue gazeles running around and humans operating them? No thanks. Plus it is hard to like a movie that Michelle Rodriguez is in (she’s totally bad ass in this though). I believe ‘Up’ is a huge contender and should take this award, but it won’t. ‘Avatar’ really changed the game. If this is 3D for our generation, I am beyond excited.

Animated Feature Film: Up

Without question, needs no discussion.

As a last note, if ‘Nine’ wins any award, I will be writing a letter of concern to the Academy. Don’t play with me tuxes, I am very serious.

