Tags

, , , , , ,

“Time has a wonderful way of showing us what really matters.” – Margaret Peters

Every day an e-mail is sent around my office sharing an inspirational quote of the day, and this gem couldn’t have come at a better time. Fresh off a turkey a coma, I am ready to share what I am most thankful for – time. Time has blessed me with the ability to share moments with loved ones, to gain a better understanding of me as a person, and the wonderful realization that some people just aren’t meant to continue with you on your life path.

Without taking a spin down negative lane, I am thankful for some of my wonderful friends, who while I don’t necessarily understand all the time, bring joy to my life in forms that they will never know. 4 am phone calls that don’t go unanswered, daily e-mails to chat about nothing and everything all at the same time, and road trips to shoe sales that only result in one pair – but a grand amount of entertainment. I am lucky that I have a best friend in my mother, a concerned security guard in my younger brother, a big, strong yet emotional football lover in my dad and a variety of confidants in my friends. Each serve a different purpose, and for that I am thankful.

I am healthy, loved and live in a world filled with choice. I am thankful for the Dallas Cowboys (even though they continue to frustrate me beyond belief). I am thankful for the Toronto Rock and their continued support and belief in my “talent”. I am thankful for my sense of humour, and for the humour of others I have come to adore in my daily life. I am thankful for good acquaintances, my job, as I know many wish they had one, and of course my puppy Texas even though he chews my shoes.

So be thankful. Take moments to realize that life isn’t perfect and we need to appreciate what we have been handed. I took that time yesterday on a long bus ride home to my family. I am also thankful that you chose to read a post of mine not filled with wit and blatant sarcasm.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

