Tags

, , ,

Should Old Acquaintance be forgot, and never thought upon… probably! 2010 is drawing to a close and I don’t know about you, but I am pretty pumped to put this year to bed. I have had such wonderful experiences, met interesting people and learned a lot about myself. I’ve never liked making resolutions – frankly I think that is setting yourself up for failure. Instead I make goals, things I want to achieve rather than change (it’s all a mind-set).

So without dwelling on the past of 2010, here are my 11 goals for 2011:

1. Introduce a new vegetable into my diet.

I actually despise veggies. I am not a huge fan, and it takes a certain mood for me to eat them. Mushrooms, green beans, lettuce… you’re all about to meet a new veggie, just not sure what it will be yet.

2. Introduce more people to the world of lacrosse and the Toronto Rock.

I have been the host of the Toronto Rock for a season now, and coming up on January 8th, I’ll be kicking off a brand new year, all on my own. I want to get more people to games and experience what lacrosse has to offer. Sooo, come!

3. Save cash money.

My biggest downfall, saving. I’ve been learning how to manage money properly over the past year, now I am going to put it into motion.

4. Move in with Leslie.

This girl has to move out, it’s time. One day Leslie and I decided that we wouldn’t kill each other if we were roomies, so it’ll be me and Les in the future – partners in cohabitation crime.

5. Get some flexibility back, by doing yoga.

I grew up dancing, and yes, dancers are flexible. But when you’ve been out of the biz for a few years, all flexibility is lost. I want it back! Time to buckle down and do some serious yoga and stretching.

6. Take care of my pesky knee.

I dislocated my knee cap about 2 years ago, and now it’s starting to act up again. I don’t want this to affect my range of motion, so I am getting committed to dealing with it – once and for all!

7. Continue being happy developing my career path.

Most people wonder why I work in the government, and not in sports broadcasting. Good question, it takes time. So I am going to continue to be happy figuring out what I want – with a big smile on my face and patience.

8. Write more.

I’ve wanted to write a novel for years. Started one 3 years ago, but have lost interest in it. I think it’s finally time to tell my story.

9. Travel somewhere, anywhere.

Even if it is only for a weekend, I want to go away and experience a new city, and/or a new country. I can’t wait!

10. Continue to say no.

I used to stretch myself too thin, and sometimes still do. Mission for 2011 is to continue to say no, I can’t do everything, and I am starting to understand that art of “doing me”.

11. Have less friends, and better relationships.

Quality over quantity, plain and simple.

We’ll see how I do, and happy new year!

