Tags

I don’t know how my Mom still adores me (you do, right?)

I was a piece of work to deal with growing up. No, I wasn’t a real trouble maker. I think  the worst things I did was forge a note saying I was missing classes due to “illness and prom festivities” (who buys that?) and I once lied about staying over at a boys house who was having a party, oops. But wow was I a bitch. I did/sometimes still do, have mood swings. Frankly I would have told myself to take a hike a long time ago, so you deserve an award for raising me from 13-25 and counting.

Back then I didn’t know why, why you were misunderstood. So now I see through your eyes, all that you did was love. Mama, I love you. Mama, I care. Mama, I love you. Mama, my friend. You’re my friend.

At 25, I’ve learned that when I need something – I call my Mom. Actually I think I call my Mom about 5 times on any given day, and we commute to work together (overkill). She’s my rock, my confidant, the woman to tell me I am being ridiculous, and dance with me in the car. She’s not afraid to be silly, but is by far the classiest woman I know. We play golf on Sunday’s in the summer, and she doesn’t bug me and the boys on Sunday’s in the fall while watching a bazillion hours of football. She’s never been afraid to be brutally honest with me, so now you all know where I get it from. We sometimes disagree, and sometimes I need her to be more sensitive about my feelings when I am hurt and can’t believe that her “get tough” attitude will help me through a rough time, even though it’s been proven to work – every single time. She sends me silly bbm’s, still calls me by my uncomfortable and mildy embarrassing nicknames, and has watched almost every single lacrosse game I have hosted. She was there with me when I was cheerleading and gaining some serious self-confidence, when I graduated – twice, when I had the worst break-up I could imagine, and when I was strong enough to leave friends behind. She’s always been there, and I couldn’t imagine her ever not being right beside me.

So with that, Happy Mother’s Day Mom! You’ve raised me to be quite a girl, if I do say so myself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

