Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Why so miserable?

Yes, winter can get you down. It’s cold, it’s grey, and the thought of patios and sangria just seems so far and out of reach. But if you’re going to live through a Canadian winter, you should be prepared. Coco Chanel did always say you should always be as pretty as possible (and I agree). Here are my top 5 products to use that work wonders in the winter.

Greg May Hair – Be Strong Serum

Image

My hair survival product! I use this all year long, and full disclosure, this is also the hair salon I go to! Best in Toronto. But back to why you need the product. Frizz and fly aways will be the death of your do in the winter, so use this to tame the tresses, and the static. Plus, the smell is incredible. Combine with Greg’s “Work It” spray for a perfect look. Hell, buy the whole Be Strong line – it’s worth it.

LUSH – Popcorn Lip Scrub

Image

My New Years resolution is all about consuming healthy foods, so caramel popcorn is outta here. Luckily, putting it on my lips isn’t! Nothing drives me more crazy than a flakey lip when trying to swipe on a little red lippy. This will be your best friend, use often and apply a lip balm such as eos on top for pure pout perfection.

Elizabeth Grant – Hand & Foot Cream

Image

Hand creams – there’s something you’ve tried a million times. As if the more delicious they smell, the more delicious my skin will be. Incorrect! I always pick based on smell. I received this in a gift bag, and have loved it ever since. This little gem smells awful (it even says so on the packaging) but the results are mind blowing. Who knew a little thing called camphor could change a girls life. Your hands and feet will thank you kindly, your nose, can adjust.

Clinique – Moisture Surge Intense

Image

You can be as pretty as a princess, but you need moisturized skin to work with before you start applying anything! This helps. The dry and flakey look isn’t adorable, but soft subtle skin is. Using this at night, your skin will look fresh faced and ready to go in the morning – oh, and ready for all the war paint to brighten up the pale hue we all get in the winter months. Blush anyone?!

MAC – Ruby Woo 

Image

This wouldn’t be a true shankell list without a Red Lippy recommendation. Ruby Woo is currently my favourite in my make-up bag (ok I have what could fill a tackle box). A bright, and very Matte lip, I wear this from day to night. Winter is made for Red!

Image

I also recommend bundling up, it’s cold out there!

