Tags

, , ,

January was a great month for getting back on track to healthy living! Mind. Body. Soul.

Paying attention to these 3 things in my life, just makes me feel better.

tumblr_mhajbilaUb1rf8vulo1_500_large

Cooking is something I stumbled upon while trying to feed myself. Literally. I had no idea I would fall in love with it. The recipe I’m going to share with you isn’t just for the body, it’s for my soul. Cooking in my kitchen makes me feel like a million bucks! Feeding myself healthy food makes it even better. Here’s a recipe for Turkey Muffins that I adapted from Jaime Eason’s recipe. I pop these in my lunch bag with raw veggies or an apple for a quick lunch on the go, or fuel before a spin class – enjoy!

Turkey Muffins – 12 servings

What You’ll Need

  • 2 lbs. ground turkey (sometimes I split with half ground chicken)
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 cup quick cooking oats
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • ½ tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp chipotle pepper spice (I add a bit more – I like it spicy!)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp garic powder
  • 1 diced onion
  • 2 carrots, grated

What To Do

Pre heat your oven to 375 degrees and spray a muffin pan with some cooking spray (or coat with a little olive oil). Put music on! Dance around, get excited to be in the kitchen.

image

Mix all the ingredients in one large bowl until everything is well combined.  Roll the mixture into balls and place each one in the muffin pan. Make sure you fill all 12 muffin spots exactly the same!

image-1

Bake for 40 minutes or until cooked through. You’ll know your own oven, so check them.

image-2Keep them in the fridge, sealed tight, or in the freezer in a freezer friendly bag!

Don’t  be afraid to substitute ingredients for what you like, play around, and make them yours.

Pic found here.

