Tags

, , , , , ,

Salads, ughhhh…

tumblr_lbt1v5GYWX1qd439r_large

I used to hate the idea of waiting all morning for a salad at lunch time. Where’s the thai food? Where’s the burrito or left over pizza? But after finding a book on how to make many, I am talking a gazillion, salads, I have fallen in love! Not to mention, it makes my post-work spinning a lot easier without being loaded down by wheat and heaviness.

While grocery shopping the other day, I strolled past the sweet potatoes and got a craving for them. Knowing I needed to make lunches for the week, I decided to recreate a salad I had once with sweet potato and arugula. Below, is my little creation – I hope you enjoy!

Sweet Potato, Quinoa and Arugula Salad – 2 lunches

IMG_3977

What You’ll Need

  • 4 handfuls of arugula (I have small hands, think about what you can comfortably consume)
  • 1 large sweet potato, cubed
  • 4 tbsp cooked black quinoa
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (this is important, no fake stuff!)
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese (I use light)
  • 2 centre palm’s of pecans (here’s my precise measurements again)
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • parchment paper

What To Do

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees, turn your music on. On a baking sheet with parchment paper, spray sweet potatoes with olive oil spray, and season with salt and pepper. Roast the delicious cubes on the upper rack, until tender. This will take about 30 to 35 minutes. Make sure to toss halfway through.

IMG_3963

In the meantime, I cooked my black quinoa. I always have quinoa on hand, and black and red are my favourite! Please rinse the quinoa in a metal strainer before cooking to remove the very nutty flavour. A simple process I use is 1 cup of quinoa to every 1 3/4 cup water. Bring water to a boil, add quinoa, reduce to low heat and cover. If you see steam releasing, take a dishtowel and wrap it around the lid to ensure nothing escapes! Poof, you’re done 40 minutes later.

IMG_3966

While all of this is cooking, grab 2 containers that can be transported to work. Place in your handfuls or arugula, and separate your pecans and goat cheese into separate small containers.

IMG_3965

To make the dressing, wash and squeeze lemon into a small container, add olive oil and salt and pepper. Shake! Make sure the lid is on first.

Place quinoa and 2/3 roasted sweet potatoes in another container so you can heat them prior to eating. 6 containers later (3 each day), and you’re ready for 2 days of lunch! Be easy on the dressing, nothing is worse than over doing this.

Save the other 1/3 sweet potatoes for a side dish at night. I like the pair them with french beans and a chicken breast.

Enjoy!

Pic found here.

