Tags

, , , , , ,

For Christmas I got my Mom a few little things and tickets to the Bon Jovi concert!

IMG_4063

As I get older, I realize the importance of spending time with the ones you love. So, I always tend to get people things to do rather than things to unwrap. We made a night of it!

IMG_4058

KISSES! I cooked curry for dinner and she brought the wine. Last week I was perusing my favourite recipe website, Skinnytaste, and stumbled upon a cheesecake recipe. I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to make dessert, and I thought I would share my modifications with you. I don’t think there’s anything better than cooking and baking for your family – definitely food for the soul 🙂

Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake – 9 servings

What You’ll Need for the Cheesecake

  • cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup of crushed graham crackers (into crumbs, don’t get too fussy with this)
  • 1 tbsp light butter, softened (you may need more)
  • 8 oz light cream cheese (a whole package of PC Blue Menu light is perfect), softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 6 oz fat-free vanilla Greek Yogurt (I use Oikos)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (invest in the good stuff, makes a huge difference)
  • 1 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1 oz of Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate

What You’ll Need for the Raspberry Coulis

  • 18 Raspberries
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp water

What To Do

Heat your oven to 350°F. Spray an 8-inch square baking pan with non-stick spray. If yours is a bit bigger, which mine was and rectangle, just fill the pan with more crumbs. No sweat.

Smash the graham crackers! Then, mix together graham cracker crumbs and butter with a fork until mixed through. Press into the bottom of prepared pan. If it is too dry, add more butter before pressing into the pan.

IMG_4043

Gently beat the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until smooth using an electric mixer. Gradually beat in fat free yogurt, egg whites and flour, do not over beat! Then pour over graham cracker crust, being careful not to disturb the bottom.

IMG_4044

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until center is almost set. Make sure to cool to room temperature before setting in the fridge to chill a few hours.

Next, in a small sauce pan, heat the sugar and water over medium heat. Make sure to stir once a minute until the sugar has completely disolved. It usually takes me 5 minutes. Then add the raspberries to the mixture and blend until smooth. Take a metal strainer and place over a container to drain sauce through and catch all the seeds! Store in the fridge.

Once everything is cool, melt the chocolate in 30 second increments in the microwave. Once melted, drizzle overtop. I am drooling just typing that.

IMG_4045

Next, top with raspberry coulis, with a small “pool” of it on the side for dipping.

IMG_4047

Enjoy!

