Tags

, , , , , ,

What happens when keeping calm doesn’t work because you’re not calm because of baking?

186829084511202424_iO9wsQDr_f_large

You’re killing me, muffins. Killing me.

A few weeks ago I thought it would be a great idea to bake my own muffins, and use quinoa flour I had picked up from St. Jacob’s Market. “Great idea!” I thought. I’ve never had my patience tested more in my life.

On boxing day I bought a Kitchen Aid Mixer, the kind we girls swoon over. I put it to use! I tried the first batch – it was ok – very heavy, and burnt even though I followed the recipe.

image (24)

Attempt #2 I tried a different recipe, with Strawberries. I posted a photo while they were in the oven and everyone was drooling over them! Too bad, they sucked.

480126_10101113202051450_178255457_n

But they looked so pretty! Unfortunately the centre was raw. And wasn’t baking… at all.

image (23)

Sigh. Attempt #3 came randomly one night, and I thought it would be a huge success by mixing the best parts of both recipes. It failed miserably.

image (22)

What I realized is that baking is learning! I learned that muffin liners don’t work for dense recipes. That your banana’s can’t be completely mixed in, they need to stay mashed. Top the muffins with carob chips instead of adding them in or they’ll burn to the pan. Also, watch them like a hawk! So here, for all of you, is attempt #4 – my perfect little moist muffins!

Banana Quinoa Muffins

image (20)

What You’ll Need

  • 1/2 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/2 cup quinoa flakes (Rube’s Rice at the St. Lawrence Market and the Big Carrot in Toronto carry these)
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 bananas, very ripe!
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder (I use Magnum Quattro in Vanilla)
  • a good sized pinch of flax seeds

What To Do

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and turn on the tunes. Remember, baking is way more fun when you’re belting out some Jay-Z (or Taylor Swift). Mix flour, flakes and protein powder with all of the other dry ingredients in your mixer. In a separate bowl, mix together bananas, eggs and honey; add to dry ingredients slowly. Be sure not to over mix! Pour into greased muffins tins (1/2 full) and bake for 12 minutes before checking. These bake up quickly.

Use the toothpick test! If it comes out clean, you’re done!

image (20)

These muffins sure stumped my brain for a while, but the results were worth it! Enjoy 🙂

Pic found here.

