Tags

, , , , ,

I am sure most of you have seen a shift in the theme of my blog. More food! While I still offer up some sass and sports, I have definitely been on a recipe kick for a while, and have enjoyed cooking more in my kitchen, and sharing my creations with you.

So why juicing?

As a new veggie lover, there’s a lot of vegetables that still make me want to cry. Plus, I usually like them more when they’re on a burger or covered in hot sauce! When a few friends had tried juice cleanses, I thought it would be a perfect challenge for my mind, and my body. Plus, it would introduce me to, and force me to consume, things like beets, cabbage and my dreaded arch nemesis – carrots.

IMG_4296

I had read about juice feasting and the health benefits to cold pressed juicing (there are tons of articles, google away). The idea? Pressed juice versus grinding veggies and fruit. No loss of vital vitamins!

Eliane from Raw Juice Guru really was the best coach for the task. She made sure to ask me all about my health issues, and what I wanted to focus on while doing the cleanse. Digestion issues are always my focus!

For me, it was a good detox and restart. Plus, I had heard mixed reviews on cleansing, but I wanted to try it out for myself. I wanted my own opinion. 6 juices a day with 2 elixirs, could I handle it? Would my body respond well? I wasn’t sure.

Every morning, for 3 days, a cooler filled with juices showed up.

Day 1:

  • Cucumber, spinach, parsley, lemon, apple, ginger x2
  • Lemon, filtered water, cayenne pepper, raw coconut nectar
  • Liquid aloe vera
  • Beet, celery, apple, lemon, romaine x2
  • Pineapple, coconut water
  • Chlorophyll

Day 2:

  • Romaine, cucumber, celery, dandelion, apple, lemon x2
  • Grapefruit, ginger
  • Aloe vera
  • Beet, ginger, lemon, cilantro, swiss chard, apple x2
  • Cabbage, celery; lemon apple
  • Chlorophyll

Day 3:

  • Kale, pineapple, celery, lemon, ginger x2
  • Orange, grapefruit, lemon
  • Aloe vera
  • Carrot, broccoli, fennel, parsley, cilantro, ginger, lemon, dandelion x2
  • Watermelon, lemon
  • Spirulina, apple

As you can see, unlike most cold-pressed juicing companies, there were an assortment of combinations sent to me! Variety, after all, is the spice of life!

To my surprise – I loved beets, I hated grapefruit. Also, I could barely choke down the carrot juice… but I did. Yay me! What I quickly realized is this:

mind_over_matterSucks, but true. I wasn’t hungry. I just missed cooking food. I wasn’t starving. I just missed chewing. I love cooking and I couldn’t do it! Some would see that as a break, I saw it as a type of medieval torture (cue exaggeration music).

IMG_4311

Day 1 was the hardest. Day 2 was the easiest. By Day 3 I came to my conclusion: I was more energized, I was craving lettuce (what?) and while I couldn’t wait for food, I now find myself missing some of the juices!

My main tip would be to go in with an open mind and communicate effectively with Raw Juice Guru so you can have the best experience. Eliane listened to my hate for Grapefruit and added in orange the next day. She also helped to keep me motivated and inspired! Also, I loved how the glass bottles were numbered and easy to keep track off. Plus, the backpack was adorable and made commuting a breeze!

IMG_4291

IMG_4313Don’t try it and half-ass it. Like most things, you get out of it what you put into it. I can happily report that I have been waking up earlier and am being more efficient since my cleanse last week. I adore the extra pep in my step! I also have had no headaches or digestion issues.

Thank you so much to Eliane for allowing me to try juice feasting. It was a great challenge and experience! I highly recommend RJG for anyone looking for a kick-start in a healthier direction.

IMG_4293

Plus, now I can be your cheerleader through the process!

Are you an avid juicer? Let me know your favourite flavour combination below!

 

