Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After a weekend of feeling blah, I was ready to get some greens and beans into my system yesterday. Being a fan of green beans started when one of my best friends, Jenna, prepared them for me with lots of garlic. Over the years, I have started to love them all on their own. But eating them cold? Never really been on the top of my list.

Until beans were added. What a lovely combination! Here’s my recipe that’s perfect for a picnic (when it warms up!)

IMG_4460

 

Three Bean Salad – 5-6 servings

What You’ll Need 

  • 1 lb of green beans, trimmed (I prefer french beans, but use what you have)
  • 1 can of white kidney beans
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup torn mint
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sparkling water
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

What To Do

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and place the trimmed green beans into the water for 3 minutes. Quickly drain and place the beans in cold water (I place ice cubes in it as well) to shock them. Drain them very well, and pat them dry.

IMG_4457

Add all 3 beans to a bowl and toss in the torn mint. In a separate small bowl, mix together the vinegar, sparkling water and olive oil. Use 3/4 the amount of vinaigrette, and pour on top of the beans. Toss and place in the fridge so that the flavours can blend. Add salt and pepper before serving!

Optional: when serving, add the remaining vinaigrette to your liking.

Enjoy!

