Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Champignon… used to be my favourite word to say en français in grade 7. I said it all day on Sunday when I decided to take my new wheels for a ride.

IMG_4462

You’re jealous, I know. While on the way to the grocery store, I had a giant craving for portobello mushrooms, hence the champignon chatter. It had been a while since I made them, in the summer to be exact. Portobello mushroom cap burgers are divine, but that’s a post for a different day. I had cherry tomatoes and goat cheese in the fridge just waiting to be used, so I picked up herbs and mushrooms, and had a delicious, and meatless, Sunday dinner.

Also, I paired this with a white VQA. Hillebrand – Artist Series – 2011 Sauvignon Blanc. Worked well with the amount of goat cheese I had dotted on!

IMG_4472

Portobello Mushroom Caps – 4 appetizers servings, 2 meal servings

What You’ll Need

  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes, about a pound
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 large Portobello mushrooms, make sure they’re large with a defined outer rim
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 medium sized shallot, finely chopped
  • 5 garlic cloves, pressed or chopped
  • 1/4 cup goat cheese
  • 1 tbsp fresh chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp fresh chopped chives
  • 1 tbsp fresh chopped thyme
  • salt and pepper

IMG_4464

What To Do

First, start by making the tomatoes. I make these all the time to put on top of fish! Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees, and pour a glass of wine – you deserve it. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Halve the tomatoes and toss them with oil, 3 of the 5 garlic cloves, the thyme, salt and pepper. Place tomatoes on the baking sheet and roast them for 25 minutes until browned on the edges.

IMG_4468

While the tomatoes are roasting, wipe off the portobello mushrooms with a damp cloth (do not wash them! They are like sponges.) Lightly tug at the stem to remove it. Take a spoon and clean out the gills. I do this when making mushroom burgers as well, it gives your toppings a place to go. In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, lemon juice, shallot and the rest of the garlic.  Brush the mushroom caps on both sides with the mixture. Season with salt and pepper.

Once you’ve removed the tomatoes, pre-heat the broiler. Broil the mushrooms for 5 minutes until they start to release some juices.

Remove them and fill with roasted tomatoes. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Fill the caps with the roasted tomatoes and add the goat cheese. I love goat cheese, so I add quite a bit, but you can omit if you’re not into dairy, it will be good without it! Sprinkle with the rest of the fresh herbs.

IMG_4469

Place back in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. Remove and enjoy!

IMG_4471

This is a wonderful appetizer, but I ate 2 for a meal and it was perfect.

