Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Michelle

I am so excited about this series! 5 women who are real movers and shakers.

First up is my dear friend Michelle Garber-Mastromatteo! Michelle, who I have known since University, and I used to be Argos Cheerleaders together.

105_575846676970_8577_n-1

That picture is from 6 years ago! Time flies.

Michelle has attended some of the most fabulous events, and now, she creates them! Michelle has this uncanny ability to not only make an event look enchanted and spectacular, but also put her clients at ease and be their rock while preparing for a big day. She has been featured in Wedluxe, Grace Ormonde Wedding Style, Today’s Bride & Elegant Wedding Magazine, just to name a few. I couldn’t be more proud of her, I even have a few of her glamorous business cards on my desk.

Here are Michelle’s answers to shankell.com’s 5th Birthday questions:

What motivates you to get up every day?
The drive to succeed is what motivates me to get up every day. Ever since I was a young child, I never liked to fail at ANYTHING. I guess you could say I’m scared of failure which is what really motivates me to work as hard as I can and to push forward. I like to be at the top of everything I do so I will work as hard as I can to get where I need to be.

525205_428637883889522_1505243093_n

If you could change 1 thing about your career what would it be?
You know what- this seems really cheesy but I don’t think I would change anything at this point. I have worked at some really amazing companies where I was able to work on fantastic events. My experiences dabbling in different types of events such as large charity events, sporting events, corporate events, galas etc… have taught me how to become a better event planner and coordinator. It brought me to where I am at now and I wouldn’t change a thing. Next stop- celebrity events!

It’s shankell.com’s 5th birthday, what would you tell your 5 year old self?
Don’t be in a hurry to grow up! The world is a tough place so enjoy playing in the mud, eating junk and going to bed early because in a few years, those things you take for granted will become obsolete and sleeping in will be a dream come true!! Trust me.

526587_440163202736990_1505335447_n

Inspiration comes in all forms, what was the last thing that inspired you?
I get inspired by books and other forms of art. I was recently delegated the task to produce a wedding themed photo shoot for Elegant Wedding Magazine. I had to think of a theme that would be unique to the magazine but also interesting for its readers. I recently finished reading 50 Shades of Grey and I was inspired by that book (weird eh?). I decided to do the entire photo shoot with that book in mind so I called it “50 Shades of Love” and the florals, cakes, stationary were all themed in an elegant way and we used Ombre Grey throughout all aspects of the shoot. It turned out amazing and I can’t wait to see it in the Magazine this
summer. Stay tuned!

Your advice to career focused women in 1 sentence would be:
Stay focused and don’t let people tell you that you can’t do something- You’re a woman and can do anything you put your mind to. There will be bumps along the way but don’t get distracted by the hills and keep trekking. Eventually- you will find your smooth road.

297434_10100434092208020_1465407062_n

For Wedding and Event Planning visit Michelle at: fabfete.ca or on Facebook!

