Tags

, , , , ,

Monika

This series, has unfortunately, taken a back seat to my knee surgery. I am a week and a half post-op, and feeling good (more on that another day).

Up next, Monika Platek ! Monika and I met when we were both hostessing Toronto sports teams. Her, the Leafs, I, the Rock.

photo (4)

We found ourselves crossing paths again during this years Grey Cup! Both covering the events for different broadcasters. It’s now to see Monika at CBC Sports (mostly because our show is on that website)! Social Media and Sports it’s my favourite mix, and Monika is the best of the best at it. Covering social for the Toronto Maple Leafs, 2012 London Olympics for CTV and now the Social Media Lead for CBC Sports and Hockey Night in Canada. She’s a real mover and shaker!

Here are Monika’s answers to shankell.com’s 5th Birthday questions:

What motivates you to get up every day?
A driving desire to kick some butt and make people smile. I am so passionate about my work and it makes it easy to work the insane hours that the sports industry demands.

tumblr_mc9xmp2A9S1ql1uweo1_1280

If you could change 1 thing about your career what would it be?
I always want more – more awesome and challenging experiences, more travel, and more inspiration from the people around me. I try to be content with the achievements and milestones along the way, but I never lose the hunger for more.

It’s shankell.com’s 5th birthday, what would you tell your 5 year old self?
Don’t be in a hurry to grow up! The world is a tough place so enjoy playing in the mud, eating junk and going to bed early because in a few years, those things you take for granted will become obsolete and sleeping in will be a dream come true!! Trust me.

37203_164497200241566_6515218_n

Inspiration comes in all forms, what was the last thing that inspired you?

I am inspired by the tiniest things. This morning, in a huge crowd of commuters, an older gentleman paused to allow me through and he smiled so sincerely. It moved me because people tend to be so straight-faced and serious when they’re pushing through the crowded Toronto streets. It was refreshing and it made my morning. Just smile, it’s free and it really can lift someone’s spirits.

Your advice to career focused women in 1 sentence would be:
Create a genuinely positive impression on everyone you meet because the world is so small and connected, you never know who you’ll be working with next.

1arwzbwncsg61p57g28v

To chat with Monika follow her on Twitter, and don’t forget, it’s Monika with a K

