Tags

, ,

I felt really sick last night.

Abercrombie & Fitch Hamburg 1
Not from that. I felt sick because my knee was making me nauseous (still
recovering…) and because I read an article about Abercrombie &
Fitch.

When I was 16, I bought a pair of green sweatpants from Abercrombie &
Fitch and I loved them. They had a baby pink and white stripe up the
legs and Abercrombie in white spelled on the tush. Two zippers at the
ankle increased the flare, and I wore them like that to show off my
skater shoes. Only recently did I toss them, they’d seen better days.

Currently, I’m ashamed I even wore them.

“That’s why we hire good-looking people in our stores. Because good-looking people attract other good-looking people, and we want to market to cool, good-looking people. We don’t market to anyone other than that…Candidly, we go after the cool kids. We go after the attractive all-American kid with a great attitude and a lot of friends. A lot of people don’t belong [in our clothes], and they can’t belong. Are we exclusionary? Absolutely.” – Abercrombie & Fitch CEO Mike Jeffries (via Business Insider)”

I am not saying anything about the size of their clothes. I am not
their demographic and there are far more companies than Abercrombie &
Fitch that limit their sizes. I was floored on my last shopping trip
when I saw the size of a small in Aritzia – sized big enough for a
doll. These companies need to collectively start making clothes that
don’t resemble the ones I had hanging in my Barbie’s dream house.

My issue is their “cool kids” approach. As we struggle against a
growing epidemic of bullying, here’s a clothing company for teens
saying, “a lot of people don’t belong [in our clothes], and they can’t belong.”

Sorry?

Who are you, Abercrombie & Fitch, to give fuel to the little brats who
torture other students in school? Do you have no heart?

I stood in Starbucks recently listening to a group of “mean girls” talk about another girl in line. These were the cool girls that “belong”.  Coincidentally, wearing your short shorts. Nasty pieces of work. And here you are sending a horrific message empowering them! Why not try being inclusive in your messaging? Your pricing already weeds out most of the North American population. There is no reason to so boldly state that some kids are better than others.

Exclusionary, well I hope you’re so exclusive that parents won’t allow
their children to buy clothing from your store. As an adult, Mike Jeffries, you
should be absolutely ashamed of yourself. You should know better.

Also, your stores smell like crap.

Pic found here.

