Tags

, , , , ,

Amira

This series keeps on rollin’!

4th in line – Amira de Vera! I love how Amira and I met. We communicated on Twitter, figured out we were meant to be friends, and decided to meet over dinner. Have you gone on a play date with someone you don’t know? Get on our awesome train. With wine and tapas, we were fast friends!

shannon-and-i

Hanging out with Gail on the patio at e11even!

Amira is an Entertainment and Lifestyle Publicist who hustles. She works harder than anyone I know in the business. Moving here on a whim, she joined the team at Pennant Media Group. From office to the see-and-be-seen events in Toronto, Amira does it all, in a pair of heels. She is also a pint sized cutie with the sweetest Man at her side, proving – you can have it all!

Here are Amira’s answers to shankell.com’s 5th Birthday questions:

What motivates you to get up every day?
I am one of those lucky people that love what they do and so my job is one of the main things that motivates me to get up every day. I work with some amazing people and getting to share their talents with the rest of the world is always such a great accomplishment for me and motivates me to do better every time.

AmiraDeVeraPic2

Photo Credit Ryan Emberley

If you could change 1 thing about your career what would it be?
I have the privilege to be able to work with some of Canada’s greatest talents, some big and some on the verge of becoming big. A lot of the times, because we are Canadians, we are very reluctant with sharing what we do and that’s something I wish to change in the entertainment industry here in Canada. Stateside, everyone has a publicist because they’re very proud about what they do there. In Canada, there’s always been a fear of coming off as arrogant, when it’s the exact opposite. We need to be more proud as a country about our people, our talents and stop comparing ourselves to the States, that’s the only way we fight the battle of finding our own identity and what it is that makes Canadians so great. It’s all about supporting one another and loving and being proud of what we do – whether it’s acting, directing, singing or even winning a court case, it’s an accomplishment that should be shared with the rest of the world.

It’s shankell.com’s 5th birthday, what would you tell your 5 year old self?
Never do anything that doesn’t make you happy and never be afraid to dream big!

45308_480157505368470_476073779_n

Photo Credit Eikona Photography

Inspiration comes in all forms, what was the last thing that inspired you?

The people around me always inspire me. One of my favourite quotes is “Show me your friends and I’ll show you your future”. I truly believe in that saying. Always surround yourself with people who will only make you better and keep you challenged and that’s what the people in my life do for me. Seeing them excel at what they do and work hard to keep getting better is my number one inspiration and motivation in my life.

Your advice to career focused women in 1 sentence would be:
Keep learning and always have the mindset that you don’t know everything. That I believe is the only way to grow and get better at what you do, especially in the field of Public Relations where things can change on a daily basis.

Photo Credit Ryan Emberley

Photo Credit Ryan Emberley

She’s a cutie! To get in touch with Amira, head to her website – amiradevera.com!

