Tags

, , , ,

Stephanie

This is it. The last profile in the series – Stephanie Fusco!

Stephanie and I, like Amira, decided to go on a date. We had followed each other on Twitter for quite some time, chatted almost daily on Facebook about our similar careers, and met briefly at the Grey Cup (I was exhausted, wasn’t a great first impression I am sure)! I think it’s amazing how as adults we can find people that make so much sense in our lives in the oddest places (like Twitter, I love that social platform). Plus, show me your friends and I’ll show you your future – I surround myself with those who keep me inspired and motivated.

484974_10101196091335660_520203904_n

Stephanie is a Community Manager at Proximity, and she works on some pretty impressive clients. In a quick amount of time, she has proven herself to be the best of the best, in the city, in her position. Most know Stephanie for her incredible blog – Leopard is a Neutral – and her ability to find the perfect Pink Tartan dress. Plus she has the cutest dog, Chloe, proving you can have a fur baby and a career.

Here are Stephanie’s answers to shankell.com’s 5th Birthday questions:

What motivates you to get up every day?

My undying fear of what can happen overnight on the Internet gets me out of bed. I’m 95% serious about that.Ā I wake up every day not necessarily knowing what I’ll be dealing with at work, but knowing that my Starbucks coffee and loving partner will get me through it. I also love where I work and who I work with – never underestimate those two things.

Stephanie-Fusco-leopard-is-a-neutral

If you could change 1 thing about your career what would it be?
I wish I had gone with my gut when I got out of school instead of spending a year at a job that really didn’t inspire or challenge me. Overall, I’m very happy with how things have gone so far. Can I wish for more hours in the day?

It’s shankell.com’s 5th birthday, what would you tell your 5 year old self?

Never stop loving pink & sparkles; keep being outspoken no matter what anyone tells you.

I think we’re our truest selves at age 5 and I wish I had embraced that more throughout my life. Also, when you see Legally Blonde don’t assume you are going to be a lawyer because she also loves pink & sparkles. You’re better off writing for your blog than studying for the LSATs.

555410_4381024498152_2107310242_n

Inspiration comes in all forms, what was the last thing that inspired you?

It’s probably really cliche to admit this as a community manager, but I read Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg’s book (Lean In) over March Break and it really made me think. It’s all about being a woman in the workplace and she forced me to re-evaluate how I handle things and how I’m planning my career.

Your advice to career focused women in 1 sentence would be:
Don’t assume that you need to take a straight path to success – it’s often a twisted road with smaller successes at every turn.

Leopard-Is-A-Neutral-by-Stephanie-Fusco-HM-Little-Black-Dress

We’re so similar it’s adorable! To get in touch with Stephanie, head to her website – stephaniefusco.com!

