Tags

, , , , ,

I missed cooking.

Just over a month ago I had knee surgery. To say it was a walk in the park (hardy har har) would be a big lie. I had my good days, and my bad days. On those bad days, I just wanted to be in my kitchen.

When I went to see my doctor last week, he said my knee was internally healed! So exciting. Let the rehab begin. But what this also meant was, I get to stand up and cook. Of course, my Mom and I took a trip to the market celebrate. Look at these tomatoes on the vine!

IMG_4967

I also got tons of baby organic spinach. This week is about easy meals for me that I can make in one go, and store for the week. Bright simple flavours!

One thing I know I can do for myself is loose a little chunky monkey weight to ease the pressure on my knee. Comfort food out, delicious nutritious food in. Let’s go!

Quinoa Tomato and Spinach Salad

What You’ll Need – 1 cup servings

  • 3 cups of cooked quinoa
  • olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 4 handfuls of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 4 cups on baby organic spinach
  • 1/2 a lemon
  • salt, pepper, dried parsley and nutmeg to taste

What To Do

Heat a bit of olive oil in a big pan on medium heat and add in garlic.

IMG_4984

Once the garlic starts to soften, add in quinoa and cherry tomatoes.

IMG_4985

Once stirred and warmed, add spinach.

IMG_4986

Wait until the spinach wilts and remove from heat.

IMG_4987

Toss with lemon and spices and serve hot or cold!

Take a measuring cup and portion out lunches for the week. Enjoy πŸ™‚

 

 

