Tags

, , , , , , ,

Back in January I went on a date to Cava Restaurant and ate my way through a painful experience… sorry buddy.

2

I will say, it was one of the best meals I’ve had in 2013. If you’re in the market for a delicious dinner out: House Made Goat Cheese Croquetas with Guindilla Tapenade, Papas Fritas, and Roast Sablefish with Black Rice and Braised Escarole had my whole heart.

But what stuck with me was the black rice, also known as “Forbidden Rice”. While perusing The Big Carrot, I found a whole stash of black rice and went nuts. I thought I could be very gourmet if I made it – couldn’t be that hard. Turns out, it’s not. Here is my simple recipe, perfect as a side for fish.

Forbidden Rice – makes 2.5 cups

What You’ll Need

  • 1 cup of black rice
  • 2 cups of water
  • clean dish towel

What To Do

Rinse the rice using a fine mesh strainer for about 2 minutes. Add rice and water to a pot with a lid and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce the heat to low and wrap the lid in a dish towel. This will help to make sure no steam seeps out (I do this for rice and quinoa).

IMG_5223

You get the idea above, I hope.

Slowly simmer for 30-35 minutes or until tender. Make sure to taste before serving, so you don’t have hard rice! I tend to use measuring cups to a) measure out a 0.5 cup portion (that’s all I need) and b) lovely presentation! Press into a measuring cup, flip over and lift gently.

IMG_5225

Enjoy!

