Tags

, , , , , , ,

Oh, wow. What a weekend.

I decided to have a mini stay-cation for the long weekend instead of heading out, with all the other downtown dwellers, to the Muskoka region. It was beautiful. Toronto is just lovely when no one is around 😉 I kid, I kid.

Wine, cheese platters, tall boys at the Argos game. It was all a little too over indulgent. When I woke up yesterday I knew it was time to set my week on the right course. Oatmeal!

Nothing warms me up like a good bowl of Oatmeal in the morning. Plus, it keeps me pretty full until snack time a few hours later. With the last remaining bits of rolled oats I had in my cupboard, I made a delicious, and patriotic meal (Canada, you’re beautiful), that will make me smile all week long.

IMG_5653

Banana Oatmeal – 3 servings

What You’ll Need

  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 1 1/3 cup of almond milk, divided
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tbsp of brown sugar
  • water (for consistency)
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • berries, I like raspberries, to top

What To Do

Combine oats, 1 cup of the almond milk and bring to a boil in a small pot. Once boiling, reduce and cover, stirring to keep the oatmeal from burning to the bottom. Add the banana in chunks, and stir until disolved into the oatmeal. I covered the oatmeal, letting the banana steam for a bit before incorporating. Add in water and almond milk to your desired consistency. Remove from heat and stir in brown sugar. Divide (I put them into tupperware for quick weekday breakfasts) and add berries and a pinch of cinnamon!

What do you like to add to your oatmeal? Tell me below!

