Tags

, , , , , , , ,

When presented with the idea of eating tofu about a year ago…

But seriously. Give me some chicken, steak, or at the very least veggies and that’s it. But, I actually like tofu. Who knew?!

My lovely friend Michelle encouraged me to get the cookbook Skinny Bitch in the Kitch. It said Bitch in the title, I was sold. Without the guide of photos, I really had to rely on Michelle’s thumbs way up approval. My tummy eats eyes first, I really do like pictures. But, I have to say, this recipe was delicious. Ye of little faith, I am now going to cook my way through the entire book.

Here is the recipe for my first tofu cooking experience, and make sure to go buy the book for the rest!

IMG_5672

Skinny Bitch in the Kitch: Smoked Tofu Stir Fry – 4 servings

What You’ll Need

  • 1 cup brown basmati rice (I used white, which I had on hand)
  • 1 3/4 cup water
  • pinch sea salt
  • 2/3 cup vegetable stock
  • 1/4 cup mirin (a japanese rice wine vinegar)
  • 2 tbsp tamari or low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot or 3.5 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp refined coconut oil
  • 1/2 white or yellow onion, halved and cut into 1/4 in. slices (I chopped, you choose)
  • 2 heads baby bok choy (about 12 oz.) halved lengthwise, then cut crosswise into 1/2 in slices (I used mini ones!)
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 portobello mushroom, halved and cut into 1/4 in. slices
  • 8 shiitake mushrooms, stemmed & thinly sliced
  • 8 white or cremini mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1 6-8 oz. pkg smoked tofu, 1/4 in. cubes
  • 3 scallions, cut into 2 in. lengths

What To Do

Combine the rice, water and salt, bring to boil, reduce and simmer, covered until water is absorbed. About 30 minutes or so.

Let stand, covered, 10 minutes.

Whisk together stock, mirin, tamari and arrowroot (cornstarch), set aside.

IMG_5673

Heat coconut oil in wok or skillet over high. Add the onion and stir-fry for 1 min. Add bok choy, garlic, ginger and stir fry for 1 min. Add the portobello and stir fry for 1 min.

IMG_5674

Add the remaining mushrooms and stir-fry for 3 min. or until all mushrooms are tender.

Stir in the stock mixture and the tofu and stir-fry until tofu is heated thru and sauce has thickened, about 1-2 minutes.

Stir in scallions.

IMG_5679

I topped with Sriracha, naturally! Also, I added more veggies for a heartier meal. It was perfect!

Have you ever cooked with tofu? What’s your favourite recipe?

