Tags

, , , , , , ,

The farmer’s market at the St. Lawrence Market just happens to be heaven (or hell, it gets hot) on a Saturday morning. This weekend I had the pleasure of my cousin and his wife coming to the city to see me. I always love our days together, spent laughing and sharing stories and eating great food. I make sure to take them to the market every time, and even found some whey-free cheese that Michelle could eat – success! I knew we could do it.

Between fruits and veggies, I took home a lot of produce for this week, including raspberries and asparagus. Both are summer favourites, but I wanted to use them in one meal. I knew that raspberry and rosemary worked well together, and changed up the usual rosemary-lamb combo for chicken. With the addition of 1/2 a can of coconut milk left in my fridge, and fresh rosemary, it helped me think outside the box.

Here is my simple meal, with big flavour!

IMG_5857

Raspberry Chicken

What You’ll Need

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 sprigs of rosemary
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

What To Do

Toss chicken with olive oil, and seasoning. Marinate 4 chicken breasts in a ziplock bag, with sprigs of rosemary, for 1 hour.

Grill chicken, 5 minutes per side, or until done.

Melt the butter over medium high heat in a small saucepan. Blend berries and coconut milk and add to melted butter. Stir in honey and brown sugar – taste to check the sweetness level. The tartness of the berries should be decreased. Bring to a boil and remove. Top chicken with berry sauce and serve with a side of seasonal vegetables!

What’s your favourite way to use berries in a savoury meal?

