Tags

, , , , ,

Why are you still buying hummus?

Buy a food processor instead! I bought mine at Target and I love having it in my kitchen. Hummus was the first thing I made, and with a bit of trial and error, was able to perfect a pretty good (yet probably very standard) recipe.

I made a giant batch to have with celery this week, and even wore my favourite apron!

IMG_6090

It’s true. I will totally cook for shoes.

IMG_6374

Hummus

What You’ll Need

  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup of tahini
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin (I have the seeds and ground them myself)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 3 tbsp water

What To Do

In your food processor, combine the tahini and lemon juice. Blend for 30 seconds, scrape down the bowl and blend again. Make sure you have a whipped consistency. Add the garlic, cumin and stream in the olive oil over 1 minute. Add in the chickpeas (drain and wash well) and blend for 30 seconds at a time, scraping down the bowl. Stream in the water until you get a smooth consistency.

You can also add toppings or blend in another flavour! I love adding in medium curry powder.

What’s your favourite hummus topping?

*side note: after peeling an entire can of chickpeas and making this hummus, it really is better! Take the time if you have it 🙂

