Tags

, , , , , , ,

Tomorrow night my friends and I will be heading out, dressed in white, to the 2nd Annual Diner en Blanc in Toronto.

200812_10100910011966010_351259798_n

Leslie and I were whisked away in a cab last year to meet Christina and Robyn, all of us friends since high school. This photo was right after we had been drowned by rain (and continued to be all evening!) We really did make the best of it, twirling umbrella’s that were eventually captured on the recap video for the event! But I would say it was a success mostly because of the company and great food.

This year we plan on scaling back on the amount of food (we overdid it last year) and have a large board of meats, cheeses and dips. My contribution? My homemade pesto crostini. Now I can’t take any of the credit for the recipe, that I have to give to Chole’s Kitchen. It has quickly become one of my favourite cookbooks at home, and works well for when I have my vegan gal pals over for dinner.

539233_10100910752616740_1226564598_n

While we are ready with our umbrella’s, I hope it doesn’t rain this year.

1098409_10101406970861400_1180742427_n

Artichoke Walnut Pesto Crostini

What You’ll Need

  • 1 14-ounce can or jar of artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1 cup packed fresh Italian parsley
  • 3/4 cup walnuts, toasted
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3/4 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, plus extra for drizzling
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 French baguette, diagonally cut into ½-inch slices

What To Do

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. In a food processor, pulse artichoke hearts, parsley, walnuts, garlic, lemon juice, salt, pepper, ¼ cup oil, and water until combined. Place bread slices on a large baking tray and drizzle lightly with oil. Bake 5 to 8 minutes, or until lightly browned. Spread pesto on warm or cooled crostini and transfer to a serving platter.

Pesto can also be cooled and served with cut up vegetables.

Are you going to DEB? What would you bring to a pop-up picnic?

