Tags

, , , , , ,

Anyone else feel like they need to detox after Summer? My hand is definitely raised. Time for fall.

IMG_6862

There’s something about the start of September, it makes me feel like it’s a brand new year. Even more so than New Year’s Eve! I am counting down the days until fall. Fall fashion, fall scents, crisp leaves beneath my feet – I can’t wait. To gear me up for autumns arrival, and for my upcoming trip to the UK (!) I am kick starting my healthy living with a cleanse.

A lovely friend of mine sent me an e-Book with a whole guide to the 21 Days (click the link to find out more). It was exactly what I wanted. A complete overhaul of what I was currently doing with a step-by-step, yet customizable, guide. I already love to cook, as you know, but I needed some new ideas. This was perfect and I am so glad I started!

Besides the fabulous green smoothies, there have been some incredible recipes (and some awful ones, I just can’t do cold soup). I am going to share a few of my favourites along the way, starting with this one. 

IMG_6886

Sweet Potato Kale Slaw – 2 servings

What You’ll Need

  • 2 small sweet potatoes
  • 2 cups of shredded kale and red cabbage (I opted to leave the cabbage out, I already had so much produce to buy!)
  • 1 cup grated carrots or beet (I used a mixture of both)
  • 1 avocado
  • ½ cup mixed sunflower and pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • Sea salt and black pepper

What To Do

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Wash and dry then prick sweet potatoes with a
fork, bake for about 1 hour, or until tender.

Meanwhile, shred the kale and cabbage, and grate the
carrot/beet. Place in a bowl and cover with chopped
avocado and the seeds.

Mix together the oil, lemon juice and mustard, and add to
the salad stirring through to coat. Serve stuffed into a cut
sweet potato.

Yummy! Let me tell you, this was packed with flavour and I felt great after eating it.

Enjoy!

