Tags

, , , , , ,

I am on day 11 of my “cleanse” (I am using quotations now) and I cheated a tiny bit. I actually cheated and had wine and dairy, I know, awful. But I did realize one new thing about myself – dairy is the enemy! I need to have it in major moderation when I start adding it back in to my diet. You live and you learn!

This week the recipes have been a bit more playful. On Monday night my lovely friend Robyn came over for dinner and some writing time up on my roof. We are both writing a lot and thought we’d make some time not only for writing, but to spend with each other. When I saw a vegan curry dish on the menu this week, I figured I would make it for her! Robyn is a clean eater, she was game. The results – whomp, whomp. There was something wrong. The original recipe had butternut squash and cauliflower, as well as coconut cream. While the flavours were all there, the texture was not. Instead of calling it quits, I rejigged the recipe to what I would like to eat! Swapped out a veggie, replaced the cream for milk and wow, changed up some of the steps and was I impressed! Here is my (much simpler) recipe for a delicious, and all vegetable, curry dish.

IMG_6975

Vegan Red Thai Curry – 2 servings

What You’ll Need

  • 1 cup of cubed butternut squash
  • 1/3 cup uncooked quinoa (cooked whichever way you normally do)
  • 1/8 cup red thai curry paste
  • 1 tsp, 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 handfuls of green beans, ends removed
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped peanuts

What To Do

Remove the skin from the cubed butternut squash, drizzle 1 tsp of coconut oil over top, and roast in the oven at 350°F for 45 minutes or until tender.

After the squash has been roasted, heat the curry paste in a small pot on medium-high heat for about 30 seconds until fragrant. Add coconut milk and whisk to combine. Add in the butternut squash and simmer on low for 5 minutes while preparing the green beans.

Bring a 1/2 inch amount of water in a small pan to a boil. Steam the green beans in the boiling water for 3-5 minutes or until tender, yet crisp.

Serve with half the quinoa on a plate, topped with the green beans, and spoon over the squash and curry mixture. Sprinkle on peanuts to your liking!

You can switch up this recipe, too! Not a fan of the vegetables? Add in something else. Don’t be afraid to play in the kitchen 🙂

