Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s fall! Hello, fall. Well technically it’s still summer but for me, I’m in full swing of autumn scents and tastes. There is nothing quite like baking once the cool weather rolls into town. I start breaking out my cinnamon sticks and use my KitchenAid mixing bowl every weekend.

IMG_3610

Isn’t it pretty?!

Baking also means happy coworkers. I tend to bring my treats into the office so I don’t have a whole bakers dozen hanging around my condo. Last week I brought in Muesli Bars. They were devoured by my whole department! What I like about these bars is how easy it is to pack for a snack during the day, or for a treat when you’re out and want to keep it healthy. They’re also incredible with a big cup of tea.

IMG_6965

Simply wrap in plastic wrap, toss in your bag, and go. I have to say, this bar is for y-o-u! You can mix in whatever dried fruits and nuts you like – I adore customizable recipes! Here they are, my Muesli Bars.

IMG_6955

Muesli Bars

What You’ll Need

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • ½ cup coconut flakes
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds soaked in 6 tablespoons water for 5 minutes (will look like a pudding)
  • ½ cup dried fruit (I used organic dried cranberries, cherries and blueberries from the St. Lawrence Market)
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 cup nuts and seeds (I used sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chopped walnuts, almonds and pecans)
  • ½ vanilla bean, scraped
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon (I use the cinamon sticks and grate on a microplane)
  • Pinch sea salt

What To Do

Combine all  of the ingredients in a bowl. Get your hands in there! Combine all of the ingredients. Press into a lined oven proof dish and bake at 350°F for 30 minutes, or until golden on top. Remove from the oven, and once cool, slice into bars.

Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 5 days.

What dried fruit and nuts would you use?

