Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Have we talked about my obsession with fall? Have we? It’s probably never been worse. I am venturing off to my homeland soon, and nothing is better than Northern Ireland in autumn, nothing. Well maybe fall scented candles.

IMG_7078

Or maybe fall lipstick…

IMG_7057

Either way, all of these should be enjoyed with a bowl of soup. Recently I talked about doing a 21 errr, 11 (oops) day cleanse. What I figured out relatively quickly is that me, and my body, don’t like restrictions. Moderations, yes. Restrictions, no. I am a pretty healthy eater, and this simply reminded me to stick with that, and live like a free bird! One recipe that I did like, and of course modified to my taste, was the Beet Soup. Here’s the recipe, I hope you enjoy!

IMG_6940

Beet Soup

What You’ll Need

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp grated fresh ginger (use a microplane if you have one)
  • ½ tbsp coconut oil
  • ½ cup fennel, chopped
  • ¾ cup beet, peeled and grated
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Pinch of freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • sliced avocado (optional)

What To Do

In a saucepan, sauté the onion and the ginger in coconut oil until onion is translucent. This should be a slow process, don’t burn the onion! Add the fennel and cook for a few more minutes. Add the beet, vegetable broth, the remaining ginger, bay leaf and simmer on low for 30 minutes. *this step can be skipped and you can simply enjoy the soup as is, I liked it blended* take an immersion blender and pulse the soup until smooth.

When serving, top with fresh cracked black pepper, a squeeze of lemon and slices of avocado!

Do you like beets? To be honest I hated them until I tried them in a juice cleanse. Mmm, mmm, love stepping out of my food comfort zone.

