Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I slept for 11.5 hours last night – I know, a little too much. But, this morning I woke up refreshed after having a serious case of the sniffles. I was ready to go, I was ready to sparkle!

IMG_6583

Glitter is currently my favourite colour.

Mornings in the fall are a hard time for breakfast. I need something more than a smoothie, I don’t want oatmeal yet. What do I do? I decided to try making my own granola a few weeks ago and yummy doesn’t even begin to describe it. Mixed with a little almond milk and topped with some berries, this is my new go-to. I think the best part about granola is how customizable it is. Just like any good recipe, you should be able to tailor it to you, and this is one you can. Enjoy!

IMG_6967

Homemade Granola

What You’ll Need

  • 1 cups rolled oats
  • ½ cup almonds, sliced
  • ½ cup dried unsweetened coconut flakes
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon (I use cinnamon sticks and grate on a microplane, I add in a bit extra because I love the flavour)
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup

What To Do

Preheat your oven to 300°F. In a large bowl combine oats,
almonds, coconut flakes, cinnamon and salt. In a small bowl, mix coconut oil (melted) and maple syrup. Pour liquid mixture over dry ingredients and stir until dry ingredients are well-coated (I use my hands, get into it!). Pour the granola onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper in an even layer. Bake for 30 minutes or until granola is golden brown, flipping every 10 minutes.

Related Posts:
Recipe: Muesli Bars
Recipe: Hummus
Recipe: Banana Popsicles

