Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s basically winter, and I’m not ready for it.

I have been out and about enjoying the last few days of fall before having to pull out the big Canada Goose parka. My family dog, who has now been a welcome visitor for 2 weeks, has kept me outside with lots of walks around my neighbourhood.

IMG_8169

Toronto’s beauty is often missed.

IMG_8175

Family photo with my not-so-baby-brother.

Speaking of family, our favourite dessert that I make is Apple Raspberry Crisp. I love serving it on Sunday’s after a wonderful meal. What has always been disappointing is that I can’t make it just for myself, otherwise I’d be eating it for days! So it was simple, I had to rework my recipe for smaller servings. Here is my Apple Raspberry Crisp with 4 servings (or 2 if you’re really hungry!)

IMG_8143

Apple Raspberry Crisp

What You’ll Need

Filling:

  • 3 large baking apples (I used Cortland), peeled, cored, and cubed
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 pint raspberries
  • 1/8 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup fine sugar
  • 1/2 tsp of freshly grated cinnamon

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

What To Do

Preheat your oven to 375°F and grease 2 ramekins (see photo above for the size I used). In a mixing bowl, toss the apples in lemon juice. Combine the apples, raspberries, flour, fine sugar and cinnamon and scoop into the ramekins (make sure to move around the apples to get them all in there!) In another bowl, mix the flour, oats, sugar, and nutmeg. Pour over the melted butter and combine. If you need more butter so that the topping is crumbly, add in. Top the apple filling evenly, I always add a little extra (and you may not use the whole thing, just top to your liking). Bake on a baking sheet for 35-45 minutes, or until golden brown and the filling is bubbling out.

Make sure to top with your favourite vanilla ice cream!

Related Posts:
Recipe: Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake
Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe: Thumbprint Cookies

