Tags

, , , , , , ,

Walk, walk, fashion baby. I think this may be pretty clear, but I love all things sparkling and a good gab fest with my gals. Which means I of course had a wonderful day at Spark Sessions on November 16th. 1459723_10101593779899590_1839754545_nArmed with a little Ruby Woo, and outfitted in J Crew, Banana Republic and an oldie-but-goodie Casper jacket, I headed off to meet a few friends (try a packed house). The first panel I caught had Nicole Wilson – Dainty Girl, my lovely friend Crystal Gibson – Mimosa’s in Montauk and Shery Bagga from Telus. What I loved most about the commentary from all panelists is their notion of doing what feels right for you. Crystal uses Tumblr because that’s how she’d like her thoughts to get across. Nicole was true to herself when creating her brand Dainty Girl as she was always deemed dainty. Do what is right for you! It’s important when blogging, hence my sporty girly focus on this blog.

Also, they discussed the true power of social media. Tweet out your content. Post it on Facebook, even link it to your Pinterest for more traffic to your site. And as Shery said, never link your Facebook to your Twitter (so true, soooo so true). IMG_8199 After heading out for a healthy lunch at Fresh, we returned to see a panel on Building a Media Kit and pitching it. IMG_8206I am horrific at pitching. Sometimes I wish I could shake the humility and just do it, but this panel really helped. I especially liked how Lia Van Eyk, Regional Outreach & Social Media Coordinator at Brill Communications, outlined exactly what she likes to see in a Media Kit. It really helped, and has made me want to start building a concise one. Thanks for the tips 🙂

As well, I got a few goodies from Almay Canada. IMG_8203 I have been testing out the products I received (eyeshadow, foundation, lipgloss, blush, mascara, eye makeup removes) for a week now and have to say I’ve been falling in love with a few. The Smart Shade Mousse Makeup is phenomenal. I am extremely pale in the winter (shocker) so to match a foundation to my ever whitening skin tone is tough. I love that this matches to a T, and has a matte finish. Nothing dewy for the winter, please. I usually stick to my high-end cosmetics so it was nice to be shoved out of my norm and test out a drugstore brand!

As the day ended, the evening portion really heated up. I stuck around to attend the Fresita after party! IMG_8207Fresita is a blend of Chilean sparkling wine fused with fresh, organic, handpicked strawberries – yum. I loved drinking a few glasses and chatting with friends and bloggers I met during the day. Aimee and I had a lovely time showing off all the bottles of sparkly. IMG_8209 I was able to take 2 bottles home, and have made sure to save some Fresita for Sunday as I am hosting a tiny tree trimming party! I’ll be making mimosas (delish – stay tuned for that post). IMG_8213 IMG_8212 IMG_8211 Cheeeeerrrssss! How pretty and festive would this be for a Christmas get together with your girlfriends? Fresita is all about being luxe, so why not have a girls night in with truffles, Fresita and a gift swap?

Thank you to the Fresita team for the invite, it was a superb way to spend a Saturday. Were you at Spark Sessions? What was your favourite part?

Sponsored

