Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hi everyone! I rarely do a post with just an update on my life but here goes nothing.

On Saturday morning I got up bright and early to shoot a 3 minute video with my best friends! Gian and I are auditioning to be on season 2 of the Amazing Race Canada… AHHHH!

We are a tad excited. Gian and I met when we were Argos Cheerleaders and have always fought the “dumb cheerleader” stereotype. Gian is a Lawyer, yaaaa GiGi, and I am a Social Media Manager. While on the Argos we always had to explain that we didn’t have marbles where our brains should be, and we often still face that stereotype.

So long ago...

So long ago…

Besides overcoming that stereotype, and Gian’s allergy to the cold (she’s Jamaican born) and my fear of heights and so on and so forth, I also had the pleasure of having knee surgery last year. I had my right kneecap lowered and screwed in, so fun! If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you know it’s been an uphill battle. I still haven’t taught myself how to run again, and TARC has a lot of running in it.

IMG_4694 I picked a non-graphic image 🙂

Last but not least, in case you needed another reason to put us on TV, Gian and I have won sports Championships with 2 professional teams: me with the Toronto Rock, and Gian with the Argos – time to win one ourselves!

383128_10100486208446660_1807227789_n

A big thanks to my main gal Casey Nolin (check out her website for all her photography work) for shooting, producing and editing our video for us. We couldn’t have done it without her!

1525310_10101650398660140_1039919240_n

We’ll be posting every once and a while about how we’re preparing just in case we get the BIG CALL! Follow me on twitter @shankell and use the #RaceCDA hashtag.

1491683_10101653062007770_1502230730_n

Fingers crossed for us 🙂

